Menu Close
Home Page

Barnby Road Academy

‘Where everyone is able to achieve their best’


In our Foundation Unit, the children are given the opportunity to learn, play and to have fun in an engaging, stimulating and safe, supportive environment; underpinned by excellent early years practice.


We strongly believe that all children learn and develop at different rates. We give them the opportunity to practise their skills and to consolidate their learning with careful planning of activities, resources and adult input that is linked to their individual levels of development and interests.


Our session times are:
Morning: 8.30am – 11.30 am
Afternoon: 12.30pm - 3.30pm


We have 39 spaces in each of our sessions throughout the day.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is delivered through carefully planned activities and play opportunities to help ensure that all children have the opportunity to reach their full potential and experience the best possible start to their education.  The EYFS sets out seven ‘Areas of Learning and Development’ and together these make up the skills, knowledge and experiences appropriate for children as they grow, learn and develop. 


They are:


Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language


Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The Prime areas are fundamental, work together and move through to support development in all other areas.  The Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.  


We send out more detailed guidance throughout the year about the curriculum and how you can help your child at home. 


You can access more information about the EYFS via the following websites:


Our Curriculum Map

Curriculum Newsletters